Leading Meeting Professionals

Professional Convention Management Association

Your BAMIES nominees are...

Legend Award – Legend is awarded to a professional who has rendered outstanding service to the meetings industry and other trade organizations over the course of their careers. This individual throughout his/her career has made significant contributions to the meetings industry and the meeting planning community in the Bay area. (Nominee must be in the meeting planning industry for a minimum of 10 years.)

  • Maurice Brewster - Mosaic Global Transportation
  • Joel Costa, CMP, MBA - The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
  • Joe Curran - Hotel Nikko San Francisco
  • David Kliman - Kliman Group
  • Tymothi Peters - University of California San Francisco
  • Eve Schmitt, MBA, CMP, CEM - VMware
  • Sheryl Sookman - Kaiser Permanente
Hero Award – Distinguishes an individual who through their involvement in our industry has made a significant contribution to the community through involvement in a local charitable organization or has made significant contributions to the meetings industry through volunteering and mentoring.  This person would be characterized as an “uber” volunteer and always willing to lend a hand for the sake of our industry and community.

  • Dana DePonzi-Haas, CMP - American College of Phlebology
  • David L. Jones - University of San Francisco
  • Chris Meadors - San Francisco Marriott Marquis
  • Diane Schneiderman, CMP, CAE - Meeting Possibilities
  • Carolyn Yim, CMP - Clift Hotel San Francisco

Innovation Award
 – The Innovation Award identifies an inspirational person who has created new solutions - large or small in scope - to event or industry related challenges or company operations. Peers and management see this individual as someone who thinks out of the box, attempts different approaches and is considered a trend-setter or problem solver at their company.  

  • Crowd Compass
  • Jana Atlas, CMP (Frosch)
  • Tennille Lowry, CMP, CMM (Med America)
  • Thomas Spano


Rising Star Award –The Rising Star Award recognizes someone who although new to our industry has shown strong commitment and support, and who has contributed extraordinarily to our industry with their dedication, vision, enthusiasm and willingness to volunteer their time and efforts. This person is recognized as someone to watch and a future leader in our industry. (Less than 3 years in Meetings Industry.)

  • Rory Davis - Giants Enterprises
  • Brendan Dolby - Clift Hotel San Francisco
  • Elaine Ho - Kaiser Permanente
  • Monica Mize - San Francisco State University


Sustainability Award – The Sustainability award identifies the best practices of an individual or organization that has significantly changed the way that they do business which has had a positive effect on the environment and has minimized the negative impacts of meeting industry functions in the bay area. This award also celebrates the achievements of a person or organization that promotes sustainable environmental efforts in the world.

  • Hotel Nikko San Francisco
  • Monterey County Convention and Visitors Bureau
  • Levi's Stadium
  • Marriott International





Northern California Chapter