Leading Meeting Professionals

Professional Convention Management Association

Richard A. "Dick" Daignault Award
Created in 1994 to honor the memory of long-time Hilton sales representative Dick Daignault. Dick was a career member of PCMA and a dear friend to his peers, his customers, and the entire industry. The award is presented to a gracious and generous supplier who mirrors Dick's outstanding character by providing leadership through mentoring, demonstrating integrity, and showing consistent respect for colleagues.

Previous Recipients:

1995 Diane Dale
1996 Bill Grusich
1997 Barbara Connell, CAE, CMP
1998 Francine Pepitone, CMP
1999 D. Bradley Kent
2000 Rhonda Chesney, CMP
2001 Kathleen Kozminske
2002 Terry O'Brien
2003 Angie Ranalli, CMP
2004 Marlene Hetzel
2005 Mary Patton
2006 Serena Melancon
2007 Lora C. Stanley
2008 Brian Hile, CMP, CHME
2009 Melanie Kuranda
2010 Murray Ryan
2011 Mark Henry
2012 Rosemarie Horcher, CMP, CEM

Robert J. "Bob" Donovan Award

Created in 2001 honoring Bob Donovan, Vice President of Meetings and Travel Services for the American Hospital Association. Bob is a career long member and former president of PCMA, and is both respected and highly regarded for his strong commitment to build the industry. This award is presented to a worthy meeting professional who leads by example, inspires volunteerism, and is committed to the future growth of the industry.

Previous Recipients:

2001 Robert Donovan
2002 Sharon Kremkau
2003 Donna Karl, CMP
2004 Laurie Fitzgerald, CMP
2005 Kelly Fox, CMP
2006 Vicky Betzig, CMP
2007 Louise A. Pochelski, CMP
2008 Karen Malone
2009 Teri Elliott Jordan, CMP, CAE
2010 Deidre I. Ross, CMP, MHA, CAE
2011 Lora J. DiPadova-Tannehill, CMP
Jody Egel, CAE, CMP

Pillar Award
Since 2003 the Pillar award has been bestowed to honor a planner or supplier who is recognized as an unyielding supporter of the chapter through dedicated participation, enthusiastic committee involvement, and valuable leadership.

Previous Recipients:

2003 Eugene Walker, CMP
2004 Mary Lou Newbold
2005 Deidre Ross, CMP
2006 Jeffrey Kincaid
2007 Andrew Schorr
2008 Douglas Dvorak
2009 Donald Jenkins, CASE
2010 Marjorie E. McCartney
2011 Bill Martin
Rhonda Chesney, CMP

Broad Shoulders Award
The Broad Shoulders Award is intended to recognize efforts and accomplishments not easily categorized or measured. From time to time outstanding services, innovative ideas, meritorious actions and leadership need to be applauded and brought to the attention of the GMC membership and the industry in general. This award offers the flexibility necessary to acknowledge those who embody the principles and ideals to which we strive. It is a truly special award that has been given out only four times since its inception in 1996.

Previous Recipients:

1996 Patrick E. Raleigh
1999 Patricia A. Carroll
2002 JoAnn Bedrosian-Ryan
2004 Peter A. Lombardi
2005 No Award Given
2006 No Award Given
2007 No Award Given
2008 No Award Given
2009 No Award Given
2010 Marlene Hetzel

The GEM Award
Presented annually to a new member of the Greater Midwest Chapter who is currently serving on a committee. Nominated by committee chairs, this volunteer must have demonstrated true passion, and taken an active role in the achievements of the committee by consistently "going the extra mile.">

Previous Recipients:

2003 H. Jeffrey Kinkaid
2004 Amanda K. Cecil
2005 Anne Carey, CMP
2006 Dionne Maniotes-Hulsey
2007 Joe Kissinger
2008 Yolanda Simmons
2009 Sarah D. Cohen
2010 Kristin Buechsenschuetz
2011 Mary Ridderman, CDME, CMP, CHSP
Hilary Rosenthal

Outstanding Service to a Chapter Award
This PCMA award honors one member who has made an exemplary contribution to the association through its network of chapters. Each chapter submits a nominee to national headquarters for consideration. Each nominee will have exhibited dedication to the chapter in areas such as education, communication, membership, and/or community service, and must have demonstrated achievements in mentoring others and inspiring new leaders within the chapter.

Previous Recipients:

2004 Vicky Betzig, CMP
2005 Scott Romane
2006 Scott Romane
2007 John Folks
2008 Rhonda Chesney, CMP
2009 Teri Elliott Jordan, CMP, CAE
2010 Paul M. Miller
2011 Michael M. McCurry, CMP
Brian Hile, CMP, CHME

Greater Midwest Chapter