Leading Meeting Professionals

Professional Convention Management Association

Richard A. "Dick" Daignault Award
Created in 1994 to honor the memory of long-time Hilton sales representative Dick Daignault. Dick was a career member of PCMA and a dear friend to his peers, his customers, and the entire industry. The award is presented to a gracious and generous supplier who mirrors Dick's outstanding character by providing leadership through mentoring, demonstrating integrity, and showing consistent respect for colleagues.

2013 Donna M. Bongiovanni 2012 Rosemarie Horcher, CMP, CEM
2011 Mark Henry 2010 Murray Ryan
2009 Melanie Kuranda 2008 Brian Hile, CMP, CHME
2007 Lora C. Stanley 2006 Serena Melancon
2005 Mary Patton 2004 Marlene Hetzel
2003 Angie Ranalli, CMP 2002 Terry O'Brien
2001 Kathleen Kozminske 2000 Rhonda Chesney, CMP
1999 D. Bradley Kent 1998 Francine Pepitone, CMP
1997 Barbara Connell, CAE, CMP 1996 Bill Grusich
1995 Diane Dale

Robert J. "Bob" Donovan Award

Created in 2001 honoring Bob Donovan, Vice President of Meetings and Travel Services for the American Hospital Association. Bob is a career long member and former president of PCMA, and is both respected and highly regarded for his strong commitment to build the industry. This award is presented to a worthy meeting professional who leads by example, inspires volunteerism, and is committed to the future growth of the industry.

2013 Jena T. Cummins, CMP 2012 Jody Egel, CAE, CMP
2011 Lora J. DiPadova-Tannehill, CMP 2010 Deidre I. Ross, CMP, MHA, CAE
2009 Teri Elliott Jordan, CMP, CAE 2008 Karen Malone
2007 Louise A. Pochelski, CMP 2006 Vicky Betzig, CMP
2005 Kelly Fox, CMP 2004 Laurie Fitzgerald, CMP
2003 Donna Karl, CMP 2002 Sharon Kremkau
2001 Robert Donovan

Pillar Award

Since 2003 the Pillar award has been bestowed to honor a planner or supplier who is recognized as an unyielding supporter of the chapter through dedicated participation, enthusiastic committee involvement, and valuable leadership.

2013 Sarah E. Opple 2012 Rhonda Chesney, CMP
2011 Bill Martin 2010 Marjorie E. McCartney
2009 Donald Jenkins, CASE 2008 Douglas Dvorak
2007 Andrew Schorr 2006 Jeffrey Kincaid
2005 Deidre Ross, CMP 2004 Mary Lou Newbold
2003 Eugene Walker, CMP 2002 Sharon Kremkau

Broad Shoulders Award
The Broad Shoulders Award is intended to recognize efforts and accomplishments not easily categorized or measured. From time to time outstanding services, innovative ideas, meritorious actions and leadership need to be applauded and brought to the attention of the GMC membership and the industry in general. This award offers the flexibility necessary to acknowledge those who embody the principles and ideals to which we strive. It is a truly special award that has been given out only five times since its inception in 1996.

2010 Marlene Hetzel 2004 Peter A. Lombardi
2002 JoAnn Bedrosian-Ryan 1999 Patricia A. Carroll
1996 Patrick E. Raleigh

The GEM Award

Presented annually to a new member of the Greater Midwest Chapter who is currently serving on a committee. Nominated by committee chairs, this volunteer must have demonstrated true passion, and taken an active role in the achievements of the committee by consistently "going the extra mile."

2013 Jenna M. Blandi 2012 Hilary Rosenthal
2011 Mary Ridderman, CDME, CMP, CHSP 2010 Kristin Buechsenschuetz
2009 Sarah D. Cohen 2008 Yolanda Simmons
2007 Joe Kissinger 2006 Dionne Maniotes-Hulsey
2005 Anne Carey, CMP 2004 Amanda K. Cecil
2003 H. Jeffrey Kinkaid

Outstanding Service to a Chapter Award
This PCMA award honors one member who has made an exemplary contribution to the association through its network of chapters. Each chapter submits a nominee to national headquarters for consideration. Each nominee will have exhibited dedication to the chapter in areas such as education, communication, membership, and/or community service, and must have demonstrated achievements in mentoring others and inspiring new leaders within the chapter.

2013 Tonya Almond, CMP 2012 Brian Hile, CMP, CHME
2011 Michael M. McCurry, CMP 2010 Paul M. Miller
2009 Teri Elliott Jordan, CMP, CAE 2008 Rhonda Chesney, CMP
2007 John Folks 2006 Scott Romane
2005 Scott Romane 2004 Vicky Betzig, CMP

The President's Award
The President’s Award is the opportunity for the chapter President to honor a truly deserving individual who has contributed to the association in a manner far beyond expectations during the president’s term. Each President is allowed to set their own criteria, but this award is not given out every year, as the intent is to reserve it for those special instances when a chapter member has truly risen to an extraordinary level.

2013 Tracy Riggan 2011 Sandy Reynolds, CMP
2010 Michael McCurry, CMP 2006 JoAnna Leon

Greater Midwest Chapter